Skip to content

Wheelmen in Miamitown

September 24, 2014

MIAMITOWN_CYCLISTS

I was cycling on the West Side this past Sunday and flatted on Harrison. After patching the tire and filling it with “fresh country air” I started off again. About a mile outside of Miamitown I flatted again (the roads are terrible. Still!). This time I had to walk into town. My luck was with me because West Trails Bike Shop was open and I was able to get settled. Hanging in their shop is a photo that I’ve not seen before of a party of wheelmen resting after their ride into town. This photo is intriguing on a number of levels – There’s a mixture of uniforms, so this is a group of friends from different clubs, there’s a young girl peeping out the window, and there’s some variety in the wheels – including a safety bike for good measure. This is an undated photo, but perhaps with a little sleuthing more can be discovered about it.  Anyway, it was interesting to see the folks from a hundred years ago with their wheels. Clearly they were enjoying themselves.  When I set out again towards Oxford I felt like I was in good company.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

